Who We Are

Through collaboration, the Calgary Youth Mentoring Coalition promotes, supports and provides leadership in mentoring for all young people as a way of strengthening the community.

History
The Calgary Youth Mentoring Coalition was founded in 1995 when six agencies involved in youth mentoring came together in an informal setting. This group explored the potential benefits of collaborating together. The outcome of these initial talks led to the decision that cooperation and the sharing of best practices could only benefit those involved and interested in mentoring.

The coalition has since grown in membership, purpose and goals. Through visioning and planning sessions, the coalition has developed a strategic plan to support, promote and encourage mentoring in Calgary and area.

Values
1. Commitment to Mentoring

Each CYMC member will make a commitment to the mentoring movement through active participation in the coalition.

2. Sharing and Collaboration
CYMC members will willingly share best practices, collaborating together to forward the mentoring movement.

3. Trust and Openness
The CYMC strives to create an atmosphere that promotes trust and openness amongst its members.

4. Integrity
The CYMC abides by a code of ethics to uphold the integrity of the coalition.

5. Respect and Inclusiveness
The CYMC welcomes new members to ensure diversity (personal, professional and cultural) in the membership. Contributions are treated respectfully and fairly.

6. Continuous Learning
The CYMC supports ongoing training, research, sharing and learning to help stay abreast of issues and trends in the field of mentoring.

 

Mentoring
  Works

Become a Mentor

A mentor is…

a person from the community who would like to make a difference in another person’s life.
a role model
sensitive to others
supportive and encouraging
a FRIEND

To become a mentor contact one of our member organizations directly or e-mail info@mentoringcalgary.com

 

 

Members

Alliance to End Violence

Suite 306, 301-14th St NW
Calgary, Alberta, T2N 2A1
nyoule@acav.org
Fax: 283-3780 

Hull Child and Family Services
Mentors Matter
Lynn Collins
251-8061

New Roads Program
Trina Lundrigan-Brake

274-2297

adan@wrhull.com

Aspen Family Services
Rebecca Burke
219-3477
c. 471-9226
rburke@aspenfamily.org

Catholic Family Services
Nelly Chow
233-2360
nelly.chow@cfs-ab.org

Seniors for Kids Society
(Cochrane)
Celina Hlidek
932-4298
hlideks@shaw.ca
www.seniorsforkids.ca

Calgary Board of Education
Alberta Initiative for School
Improvement
Eric Perrault
777-8750 ext. 2234
ejperrault@cbe.ab.ca

AADAC
Leslie Munson
297-4603
leslie.munson@aadac.gov.ab.ca

Alberta Mentor Foundation for Youth
Linda Leong
270-3637
linda@amfy.org

The HERA Society
Chelsey Morton
777-6990 ext. 25
volunteer@herasociety.org

Big Brothers and Big Sisters of Calgary and Area
Sarah Kaufman
215-3593
sarah.kaufman@bbbscalgary.com

www.bbbscalgary.com

McMan Youth Family and Community Services
Leann Acheson
508-0442
leann.Acheson@mcman.ca

Wraparound Program
Jason Stone
662-3562
jason.stone@gov.ab.ca

Calgary Young Offender Centre
Leanne Kilcommons
662-3556
leanne.kilcommons@gov.ab.ca

Communities in Action for Children and Youth
Travis Wilkens
717-2677
520-1605
ciacy@bgcc.ab.ca
youth@bgcc.ab.ca
105ways@bgcc.ab.ca

Youth For Christ
Youth Guidance (Mentoring program for youth at risk)
Bennie Adam
291-3179
ygyfl@telus.net

Spectrum Youth and Family Services
Kirby Redwood
247-5003

www.spectrum-yfsa.org